Federal Register | The Critical Infrastructure Partnership Advisory Council

Quarterly Critical Infrastructure Partnership Advisory Council Membership Update.

The Department of Homeland Security (DHS) announced the establishment of the Critical Infrastructure Partnership Advisory Council (CIPAC) in a Federal Register Notice (71 FR 14930-14933) dated March 24, 2006, which identified the purpose of CIPAC, as well as its membership. This notice provides: (i) Quarterly CIPAC membership updates; (ii) instructions on how the public can obtain the CIPAC membership roster and other information on the council; and (iii) information on recently completed CIPAC meetings.


Larry May, Designated Federal Officer, Critical Infrastructure Partnership Advisory Council, Sector Outreach and Programs Division, Office of Infrastructure Protection, National Protection and Programs Directorate, U.S. Department of Homeland Security, 245 Murray Lane, Mail Stop 0607, Arlington, VA 20598-0607; by telephone: (703) 603-5070; or via email at: CIPAC@dhs.gov. Responsible DHS Official: Larry May, Designated Federal Officer for the CIPAC.

Purpose and Activity: The CIPAC facilitates interaction between government officials and representatives of the community of owners and/or operators for each of the critical infrastructure sectors defined by Presidential Policy Directive (PPD) 21 and identified in the National Infrastructure Protection Plan. The scope of activities covered by the CIPAC includes planning; coordinating among government and critical infrastructure owner and operator security partners; implementing security program initiatives; conducting operational activities related to critical infrastructure protection security measures, incident response, recovery, and infrastructure resilience; reconstituting critical infrastructure assets and systems for both manmade as well as naturally occurring events; and sharing threat, vulnerability, risk mitigation, and infrastructure continuity information.

Organizational Structure: CIPAC members are organized into 16 critical infrastructure sectors. Each of these sectors has a government coordinating council (GCC) whose membership includes (i) a lead Federal agency that is defined as the Sector-Specific Agency; (ii) all relevant Federal, state, local, tribal, and/or territorial government agencies (or their representative bodies) whose mission interests also involve the scope of the CIPAC activates for that particular sector; and (iii) a sector coordinating council (SCC) whose membership includes critical infrastructure owners and/or operators or their representative trade associations.

CIPAC Membership: CIPAC Membership may include:

(i) Critical Infrastructure owner and/or operator members of their respective sector's DHS-recognized Sector Coordinating Council, including their representative trade or equivalent organizations as determined by the sector;

(ii) Federal, state, local, and tribal governmental entities comprising the members of the GCC for each sector, including their representative trade or equivalent organizations.

CIPAC membership is organizational. Multiple individuals may participate in CIPAC activities on behalf of a member as long as member representatives are not Federally registered lobbyists.

CIPAC Membership Roster and Council Information: The current roster of CIPAC members is published on the CIPAC Web site (http://www.dhs.gov/cipac) and is updated as the CIPAC membership changes. Members of the public may visit the CIPAC Web site at any time to view current CIPAC membership as well as the current and historic list of CIPAC meetings and agendas.

Dated: March 8, 2013.

Larry May,

Designated Federal Officer for the CIPAC.

[FR Doc. 2013-06298 Filed 3-18-13; 8:45 am]